Centre for Research in Engineering and Materials Education

People

Dr Abdouni

Dr Yamin Abdouni
BSc, MSc, PhD

Honorary lecturer
Organic Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry
Email yamin.abdouni@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Adjali

Dr Hicham Adjali
MEng, MSc, PhD, FHEA

Senior Lecturer in Thermofluids
Heat Transfer, Thermal Systems, Building Energy, Parameter Estimation Scholarship: Engineering Education
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8739     Email h.adjali@qmul.ac.uk

Mr Ahmed

Mr Luqman Ahmed
MA

Lecturer in Skills for Science and Engineering Transnational Education
Email l.ahmed@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Akinmolayan Taiwo

Dr Folashade Akinmolayan Taiwo
MEng, PhD, SFHEA

Senior Lecturer in Engineering Education
Primary research interests are: Student experience of teamwork as an indicator for employability skills; Engagement and retention of students within Engineering through active learning techniques; Cultural and social impacts on the approaches to learning; Diversity and inclusion within Engineering.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7281     Email f.akinmolayan@qmul.ac.uk

Mr Allman

Mr Alan Allman
BSc, DELTA, FHEA

Lecturer in English for Science and Engineering Transnational Education
Email a.allman@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Bhatti

Dr Muhammad Rehan Asghar Bhatti
BEng, MRes, PhD

Teaching Fellow
Material Science (Functional Polymers | Transparent Composites | Technical Textiles)
Email muhammad.bhatti@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Briggs

Dr Adrian Briggs
BSc (Eng) PhD (Lond)

Reader in Mechanical Engineering
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8876     Email a.briggs@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Busfield

Prof James Busfield
FREng, MA, PhD, CEng, FIMMM, FHEA

Professor of Materials
Examining the physical behaviour by experiment and modelling techniques of soft matter such as elastomers and rubber materials. Properties of interest include abrasion, friction, fracture, creep, fatigue, viscoelastic behaviour, modulus enhancement, self healing, recycling, ageing and composite filler reinforcement. Developing smart soft materials that can sense their environment and soft actuating materials that can change shape in response to a physical stimulus.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8866     Email j.busfield@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Cavalli

Dr Gabriel Cavalli
BSc, MSc, PhD, SFHEA

Reader in Science and Engineering Education
Inclusive Pedagogy in STEM. Language impact on STEM Education. Educational and Academic Development for STEM experts. Flipped-classroom and student-centred approaches to teaching and learning. Transnational education.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2963     Email g.cavalli@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Deng

Dr Xinru Deng
MEng, PhD

Lecturer in Engineering Education
Hydroxyapatite, biomineralization, directed self-assembling system, bio-inspired hierarchical structure
Email deng.xinru@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Hafeez

Dr Sanaa Hafeez
PhD, AMIChemE

Lecturer in Engineering Education
Email sanaa.hafeez@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Huijberts

Prof Henri Huijberts
MSc PhD(Twente, Netherlands) PFHEA CMath FIMA

Professor of Engineering Science and Education
Nonlinear control systems, nonlinear dynamics, chaos, synchronisation, robotics, time-delay systems, traffic dynamics
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8869     Email h.j.c.huijberts@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Inyang

Dr Adijat Inyang

Lecturer in Materials Science and Engineering Education
Email a.inyang@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jivani

Dr Saqib Raza Jivani
MEng, PhD

Teaching Fellow
Enhanced heat transfer, Condensation, Two-Phase Flow.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3149     Email s.r.jivani@qmul.ac.uk

Ms Kocnevaite

Ms Agne Kocnevaite
MA, CELTA, FHEA

Lecturer in Skills for Science and Engineering Transnational Education
Email a.kocnevaite@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Motallebi

Dr Fariborz Motallebi
BSc MEng PhD

Senior Lecturer in Aerodynamics
Flow Control, Aerodynamics of Sport Vehicles, High Speed Aerodynamics, Boundary Layer Flows, Instrumentation and Optical Diagnostics in Flow Measurements
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5182     Email f.motallebi@qmul.ac.uk

Ms Nightingale

Ms Faith Nightingale
MA, DELTA, FHEA, AMIMMM

Lecturer in Skills for Science and Engineering Transnational Education
Engineering Education, Professional Skills, Curriculum Development, ELT
Email f.nightingale@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Ohtani

Prof Nobuoki Ohtani
M Des RCA

Professor in Design
Sports Equipment Design, Medical Design, Design Innovation, Design Management
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5269     Email n.ohtani@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Palomas

Dr David Palomas
BSc, PhD, MRSC, FHEA

Lecturer (QMES/NPU)
Organic Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry and Catalysis.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3149     Email d.palomas@qmul.ac.uk

Mr Parton

Mr Benjamin Parton
BAhon, MA(RCA), RCA Fellow

Lecturer with Professional Practice
Invention, Design Innovation, Strategic thinking, Graphic Design, Advertising Art Direction & Copywriting, Corporate Branding, Educator.
Email b.parton@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Peters

Dr Stuart Peters
BA, MSc, PhD

Lecturer
Industry 4.0 (Fourth Industrial Revolution), Innovation, Sustainability & Climate Change
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3784     Email s.r.peters@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Romero-Gonzalez

Dr Maria Romero-Gonzalez
MSc, PhD

Reader in Science & Engineering Education
Biomineralization, surface chemistry, biomaterials, environmental chemistry, engineering and sustainability. Flipped learning, student centred learning, curriculum design.
Email m.romero-gonzalez@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Shah

Dr Raza Shah
PhD (Cantab), BEng (Hons), CEng, MBA, MSc, MEd, PGCE, MIMechE, MCMI, MBPsS

Senior Lecturer in Design, Production & Manufacturing
Raza is a chartered engineer with expertise across design, production, processing, project management, R & D and consultancy. He has a diverse range of industrial design experience in the UK, Europe and Middle East on capital investment projects in the speciality gas, chemicals and petroleum gas industries at a senior level [e.g., Air Products & Chemicals, SHV Energy Calor Gas, Nidec SR Drives, Gulf Cryo, National Grid, Hyundai Construction]. Raza's engineering design expertise involves exploring, devising and implementing design methodologies that encourage creative design thinking and to develop culture of creativity leading to ideational fluency, diversity and productivity. Raza brings together a cross-disciplinary blend of domains to facilitate knowledge transfer between engineering, design, user-centred design, human decision-making, human behaviour and creative cognition in design and psychology.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6663     Email raza.shah@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Shah

Dr Rehan Shah
BEng (UCL), MSc (Oxf), PhD (UCL), FHEA, MIMA, MInstP

Lecturer in Engineering Education
Applied mathematics (nonlinear dynamics, analytical mechanics and mathematical modelling); Mathematics and engineering education pedagogy (threshold concepts, concept inventories, authentic learning, active and experiential learning approaches, university partnerships with industries and local communities)
Email rehan.shah@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Shoop

Dr Karen Shoop
BA MSc PhD

Senior Lecturer in Design
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8014     Email karen.shoop@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Spowage

Dr Andy Spowage
PhD, PGCHE, CEng, CSci, FIMMM, FIMM, FHEA

Reader in Engineering and Materials Education
My engineering work focuses on the performance of materials, specifically selecting materials for a given application and investigating them when they fail in service. My scholarship portfolio covers university transitions, engineering and project management, how to integrate professional practice into engineering programmes, and transnational education.
Email a.spowage@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Vepa

Dr Ranjan Vepa
BTech(IITMadras) MASc(Wat) PhD(Stan)

Reader in Aerospace Engineering
My research interests are in dynamic modelling, simulation and control applications related to aircraft flight dynamics, UAVs , robotics, space robotics and space vehicle orbit and attitude dynamics with a focus on aeroelaticity, electric propulsion and optimal trajectory synthesis for aircraft flight, UAVs and space missions.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5193     Email r.vepa@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Vukusic

Dr Sulafudin Vukusic
BSc, MSc, PhD, PGCE

Senior Lecturer in Materials Chemistry
Engineering and Materials Education, Chemical Education
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2963     Email s.vukusic@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Wang

Dr Li Wang
BEng, MSc, PhD, CEng, FHEA

Senior Lecturer in Engineering
Materials, Design, Simulations, Packaging
Email l.i.wang@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Zawahreh

Dr Yousef Zawahreh
BEng(Hons), PhD, PGCert, FHEA

Senior Lecturer in Engineering Materials and Design
My background is in materials, an area of that spans all other engineering disciplines (almost). My interests lie in identifying and commercialising design-related solutions that come from the boundaries between disciplines. Sustainability and healthcare are at the top of my list. Engineering education is another passion of mine. The current coronavirus pandemic upheaval has been challenging but perhaps in a good way. Innovation and progress are borne out of adversity and this situation is no different. I am extremely interested in how can we use this upheaval to advance engineering education in a post-COVID era.
Email y.zawahreh@qmul.ac.uk