Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Privacy Policy

Queen Mary University of LondonQueen Mary University of London
Staff menu

Staff

Researchers

Mr Biesuz

Mr Mattia Biesuz

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email m.biesuz@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Bosch Fortea

Dr Minerva Bosch Fortea

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email m.bosch@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Julien Gautrot

Dr Burrows

Dr Stephen Burrows

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email s.burrows@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Stoyan Smoukov

Dr Campelo Lopes

Dr Ilanna Campelo Lopes
PhD

Visiting Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Biosensors, DNA, enzymes, membranes, antineoplastic drugs
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5151     Email i.campelolopes@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Pankaj Vadgama

Dr Carassiti

Dr Daniele Carassiti
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email d.carassiti@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Rob Krams

Dr Chen

Dr Kan Chen

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2734     Email kan.chen@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Chen

Dr Zheng Chen
PhD

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow
Control Systems, Hybrid Electric Vehicles, Battery Management System.
Email zheng.chen@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Guang Li

Dr Das

Dr Anirban Das

Marie-Curie Fellow
Email a.das@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Steffi Krause

Dr Di Cio

Dr Stefania Di Cio
MEng

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7882 5301     Email s.dicio@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Julien Gautrot

Dr Duong Quang Nguyen

Dr Khai Duong Quang Nguyen

KTP Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7306     Email k.nguyen@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Julien Gautrot

Mr Giannopoulos

Mr Antonios Giannopoulos

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email a.giannopoulous@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Hazel Screen

Dr Gravelle

Dr Simon Gravelle
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
I have a PhD in nanofluidics. My expertise is mostly numerical (molecular dynamics, monte carlo, umbrella sampling, finite elements method). I have also performed experiments using Fluorescence correlation spectroscopy.
Email s.gravelle@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Lorenzo Botto

Mr Gu

Mr Chuan Gu

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email c.gu@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Lorenzo Botto

Mr Hasan

Mr Abshar Hasan

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email abshar.hassan@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Alvaro Mata

Dr Heywood

Dr Hannah Heywood

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5368     Email h.k.heywood@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof David Lee

Mr Hua

Mr Nan Hua

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email n.hua@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Huasheng Wang

Dr Inamdar

Dr Sheetal Inamdar
MEng, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3119     Email s.r.inamdar@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisors: Dr Himadri GuptaProf Martin Knight

Miss Khanom

Miss Taslema Khanom

Research Assistant
Email t.khanom@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Kloskowska

Dr Paulina Kloskowska
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email paulina.kloskowska@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Aleksandra Birn-Jeffery

Dr Kong

Dr Dexu Kong

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7882 5306     Email d.kong@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Julien Gautrot

Mr Lee

Mr Wanlin Lee

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email wanlin.li@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Kaspar Althoefer

Dr Li

Dr Weiqi Li

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7821     Email wei-qi.li@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Wen Wang

Dr Madhu

Dr Rajesh Madhu
M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow
Porous Carbon Materials, Nanocomposites, Electrochemistry, Electrodeposition, Biosensors, Supercapacitors, Fuel Cells
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5301     Email r.madhu@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Magdalena Titirici

Dr Marhuenda

Dr Emilie Marhuenda
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email e.marhuenda@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Thomas Iskratsch

Dr Markesteijn (Anton)

Dr A.P. Markesteijn (Anton)
BSc, MSc, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Fluctuating Hydrodynamics / Non-Equilibrium Molecular Dynamics / Microfluidics / Nanofluidics / Biophysical Systems and Simulations / Multiscale Methods / Coupling of Molecular Dynamics and Computational Fluid Dynamics
Email a.markesteijn@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Sergey Karabasov

Dr Megone

Dr William Megone

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email exx207@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Julien Gautrot

Dr Meng

Dr Nan Meng

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email n.meng@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Emiliano Bilotti

Mr Modugno

Mr Pierpaolo Modugno

ESR Marie-Curie Researcher
Email p.modugno@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Magdalena Titirici

Miss Nicolae

Miss Sabina Alexandra Nicolae

ESR Marie Curie Researcher
Email sabina.nicolae@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Magdalena Titirici

Dr Okesola

Dr Babatunde Okesola

Postdoctoral Fellowship (Self-Assembling Peptides for Tissue Regeneration)
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6686     Email b.okesola@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Tina Chowdhury

Dr Periasamy

Dr Arun Prakash Periasamy
M.Phil, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Carbon Nanostructures, Functional Nanomaterials, Electrochemistry, Electrocatalysis, Photoelectrocatalysis, Energy Conversion and Storage.
Email a.prakash@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Ana Jorge Sobrido

Dr Placha

Dr Kasia Placha
MSc, PhD

Industrial Visitor
Email k.placha@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Quadros

Dr Russell Quadros
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email r.quadros@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Jens-Dominik Mueller

Miss Radvar

Miss Elham Radvar

Research Assistant
Email e.radvar@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Helena Azevedo

Mr Rizqi

Mr Ataka Rizqi

Research Assistant
Email a.rizqi@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Kaspar Althoefer

Dr Santagiuliana

Dr Giovanni Santagiuliana
BSc, MSc, PhD

Polymer Research Manager
Liaising with potential industrial partners and management of the contracted works of Nanoforce related to polymer/composite processing.
Support to the research activities of SEMS under the supervision of Dr. Emiliano Bilotti.

Thermoplastic polymer processing, nanocomposites, graphene-based composites, materials characterisation, analytical modelling, materials and products development, cycling
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2792     Email g.santagiuliana@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Emiliano Bilotti

Mr Saunders

Mr Theo Saunders

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email t.g.saunders@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Shi

Dr Yejiao Shi

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5301     Email yejiao.shi@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Helena Azevedo

Dr Sliogeryte

Dr Kristina Sliogeryte

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5368     Email k.sliogeryte@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Sun

Dr Yiwei Sun
BSc, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Raman spectroscopy; high pressure; density functional theory; carbon nanomaterials;
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5301     Email yiwei.sun@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisors: Prof Sir Colin HumphreysDr Oliver Fenwick

Dr Thompson

Dr Clare Thompson
MBiochem, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Mammalian cell culture, immunohistochemistry, immunocytochemistry, confocal microscopy and image analyses, reverse transcription and real time PCR, molecular cloning, cell transfection, immunoprecipitation and western blotting, biochemical assays (various).
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3603     Email clare.l.thompson@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Martin Knight

Dr Thorpe

Dr Stephen Thorpe
BA, BAI, PDipStat, PhD, FHEA

Researcher Co-Investigator
I implement a range of engineering, biophysics and molecular biology techniques to probe cellular responses to biophysical signals. In addition to enhancing our understanding of cell mechanobiology, my research looks to leverage this understanding to develop cartilage and bone regenerative medicine strategies, and address the aberrant mechanobiology associated with one of the most lethal cancers, pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3602     Email s.thorpe@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof David Lee

Dr Trifiletti

Dr Vanira Trifiletti
PhD

Marie Sklodowska Curie Fellow
Nanostructured materials for renewable energy applications: photovoltaic and thermoelectric devices. Chemical and physical synthesis of single crystals and thin films, material characterisation, device construction and testing.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3604     Email v.trifiletti@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Oliver Fenwick

Dr Tu

Dr Wei Tu
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7882 8138     Email w.tu@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Mr Tu

Mr Ying Tu

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email exx214@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Steffi Krause

Dr Twycross-Lewis

Dr Richard Twycross-Lewis
BSc(Hons), MRes, PhD, MSc, DipLaw(CPE), AMIMechE

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Biomechanics & Intellectual Property Law
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5368     Email r.twycross-lewis@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Aleksandra Birn-Jeffery

Dr Verbruggen

Dr Stefaan Verbruggen
PhD

Research Fellow
Bone biomechanics and mechanobiology, Developmental biomechanics, cancer mechanobiology
Email s.verbruggen@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Martin Knight

Dr Viola

Dr Giuseppe Viola
PhD, PGCAP

Post-doctoral Research Assistant
Domain switching in ferroelectric and ferroelastic materials; Degradation and fracture behaviour of ferroelectric and ferroelastic materials; Spark Plasma Sintering of advanced ceramics.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2775     Email g.viola@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Waugh

Dr Charlie Waugh

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow
Email c.waugh@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Hazel Screen

Dr Weiszer

Dr Michal Weiszer

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Optimisation, metaheuristics, operational research and their applications such as airport operations and intelligent sewer networks.
Email m.weiszer@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Jun Chen

Dr Weng

Dr Zhichao Weng
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
My PhD project was based on investigating spin dynamics in small molecule OLEDs via ultra-small magnetic field effects. My expertise: 1. High quality organic materials purification technique and OLEDs processing in cleanroom environment. 2. Measurements of Magnetic Field Effects (High Field Effect and Ultra-Small Magnetic Field Effect) in OLEDs 3. Equipment design and engineering (High resolution and precision Helmholtz Coil system) 4. Software designing, programming and test system integration for magnetic field effects measurement system 5. Data processing, quantitative analysis and physical model optimization based on large dataset
Email z.weng@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof Sir Colin Humphreys

Dr Xanthis

Dr Ioannis Xanthis
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Cardiovascular Mechanobiology
Email i.xanthis@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Thomas Iskratsch

Dr Xia

Dr Huihui Xia
PhD

Project Assistant
Email huihui.xia@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Prof John Stark

Mr Xiong

Mr Wei Xiong

Email w.xiong@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Mr Zhan

Mr Siyuan Zhan

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email s.zhan@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Guang Li

Dr Zhang

Dr Hangfeng Zhang
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email hangfeng.zhang@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Haixue Yan

Dr Zhang

Dr Ruizhi Zhang
PhD

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Email ruizhi.zhang@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor:

Dr Zhang

Dr Yao Zhang

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Nonlinear control methods.
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6686     Email yao.zhang@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisor: Dr Guang Li

Dr Zhao

Dr Luming Zhao

Marie Curie Research Fellow
Email luming.zhao@qmul.ac.uk
 Supervisors: Dr Lei SuProf Martin Knight