Skip to main content


4th Russell Binions Research Symposium

Date: Mon 17 - Thu 20 May 2021, 09:30 - 17:00

Location: Online - Zoom

4th Russell Binions Memorial PhD Research Symposium
17th - 20st May, 2021.
Provisional Program

17th May, Monday, Materials (link to the meeting)

Session Chairs: Prof. Liz Tanner and Prof. Gleb Sukhorukov

Time PhD Student Supervisor Title
9:30-9:55 Qinrong He Joe Briscoe P–N junction-based ZnO wearable textile nanogenerator for biomechanical energy harvesting
9:55-10:20 Weidong Tang Oliver Fenwick Doping of Metal Halide Perovskites for Thermoelectrics
10:20-10:35 Zimeng Hu Haixue Yan Electromagnetic coupling in multiferroics
10:35-10:50 Madeeha Tabassum Lei Su Doping with alkali metals in halide perovskite materials.
Mid session Break
11:00-11:15 Yichen Wang Mike Reece High entropy ceramic carbides
11:15-11:30 Yongfeng Zhou Lei Su Perovskite photonic devices
11:30-11:45 Shafique Ahmed Haixue Yan Zirconia based ceramics for dental application
11:45-12:00 Valeriia Kudriavtceva Gleb Sukhorukov Biodegradable defined shaped printed polymer capsules - micro-sized “pelmeni”/dumplings
Lunch Break
15:30-15:45 Sally Luong Oliver Fenwick Graphene hybrid system as a Thermoelectric Material
15:45-16:00 Adyant
Agrawal Emiliano Bilotti ERC project - Flow-induced dispersion of 2D nanomaterials in sheared liquids theory and simulation.
16:00-16:15 Claudia Bertei Emiliano Bilotti Study of ion responsive polymer brushes as smart coatings and organogel models
16:15-16:30 Anureet Kaur James Busfield Self-Healing and Recyclable Chloroprene Rubber

16:30-16:45 Yufei Wang Lei Su Biocompatible and highly-stretchable hydrogel optoelectronic wearable sensor
Mid session Break
17:00 – 17:30 Dr. Joe Briscoe
“Scaling up and scaling down: maximising solar energy conversion through large-area synthesis and novel nanocomposite materials”
Discussion and Feedback

18th May, Tuesday, Aero+Mech+Robotics (link to the meeting)

Session Chairs: Prof. Kaspar Althoefer and Prof. Sergey Karabasov

Time Speaker - PhD student Supervisor Title
9:30-9:55 Alex Hughes Andrew Buchan Reduced Order Models for Reactor Physics
9:55-10:20 Ruixin Lu Yi Sui Path selection of a capsule train in a branched microchannel
10:20-10:35 Abu Dawood Kaspar Althoefer Soft sensors for soft robots
10:35-10:50 Dongsheng Jia Vassili Toropov Optimization of deployable structures
Mid session Break
11:00-11:15 Liwei Yang Huasheng Wang Investigation of solar assisted air source heat pumps
11:15-11:30 Sara Abuhajar Hasan Shaheed Optimization and control of renewable energy systems for stand-alone applications such as water desalination
11:30-11:45 Sikun Wang Xi Jiang Advanced Study of Holographic Acoustic Trapping using Ultrasound
11:45-12:00 Yu Yuan Pihua Wen Navier-stokes flows with meshless finite block method
Lunch Break
15:45-16:00 Afsoon Fakhr Abdollahi Hasan Shaheed Robotic Active Capsule Endoscope (RACE): Advanced design, fabrication and control
16:00-16:15 Salman Qadir Guang Li Optimal power management of battery systems
16:15-16:30 Jan Fras Kaspar Althoefer Soft pneumatic actuators design and fabrication
16:30-16:45 Yu Xia Huasheng Wang Experimental and theoretical investigation of organic Rankine cycles
Mid session Break
17:00 – 17:30 Prof. Andrew Livingston
“Travels in Nanoland – Membranes, Molecules, and Money”
Discussion and Feedback

19th May, Wednesday, Bioengineering (link to the meeting)

Session Chairs: Prof Rob Krams and Dr Thomas Iskratsch
Time Speaker - PhD student Supervisor Title
9:30-9:55 Connor Gains Hazel Screen Force Transmission Between the Gastrocnemius and Soleus Sub-Tendons of the Achilles Tendon in Rat
9:55-10:20 Xinqing Pang Helena Azevedo Hyaluronan (HA) Immobilized on Surfaces via Self-Assembled Monolayers of HA-Binding Peptide Modulates Endothelial Cell Spreading and Migration through Focal Adhesion
10:20-10:35 Hudair Samad Yi Sui Microfluidics for sorting circulating tumor cells
10:35-10:50 Cardee Alexis Julien Gautrot Study of Liquid-liquid interfaces
10:50-11:05 Hongxu Meng Tina Chowdhury Stem cell mechanical property study by AFM
Mid session Break
11:15-11:30 Elijah Mojares Julien Gautrot Design of nanosheets and microdroplet technologies
11:30-11:45 Huan Meng Martin Knight YAP regulates pro-inflammatory signalling associated with changes in chondrocyte primary cilia
11:45-12:00 Jacob Balangtaa Helena Azevedo Self-assembled peptide droplet interfaces for simple screening of stem cell microenvironments and micromanipulation of colonies
12:00-12:15 Marta Beja Ferreira Martin Knight Biophysical biomarkers to characterize cancer-associated fibroblasts in drug screening strategies
12:15-12:30 Luoguang Zhao Wen Wang Numerical modelling of viscoelasticity of biological cells
12:30-12:45 Matthew Ward Thomas Iskratsch
Investigation of cardiovascular mechano-sensing with engineered 2D and 3D environments
Lunch Break
15:15-15:30 Jose Gaxiola Camacho Teresa Alonso
Investigation of optimal bone coverage for the adequate fixation of the acetabular cup in patients with Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip during uncemented Total Hip Arthroplasty
15:30-15:45 Reynol Diaz-Lopez Julia Shelton
Taper Junctions in modular total hip arthroplasty
15:45-16:00 Ana Karen Mendoza Martinez Helena Azevedo
Biofabrication of self-assembling fluidic devices for modelling ovarian cancer under fluid flow
16:00-16:15 Lan Chang Julien Gautrot Polymer brush vectors for 3D RNA delivery
16:15-16:30 Ernesto Salazar Joya Teresa Alonso A parallel-processing portable functional electrical stimulation device for patients with foot drop
16:30-16:45 Alexandra Chrysanthou Julien Gautrot Study of the mechanical properties of liquid-liquid interfaces
Mid session Break
17:00 – 17:30 Prof. Andrew Lewis "Innovating new medical devices"
Discussion and Feedback

20th May. Thursday, ChemEng (link to join the meeting)

Session Chairs: Prof Xi Jiang and Dr Petra Szilagyi

Time Speaker - PhD student Supervisor Title
14:30-14:55 Qian Guo Ana Sobrido Surface and Interface Engineering of Hematite Photoanode for Solar to Hydrogen Conversion
14:55-15:20 Boyan Peychev Radomir Slavchov Role of the interaction between ions and adsorbed dipoles in Hofmeister’s effect and in the charging of hydrophobic surfaces
15:20-15:35 Carlos Mingoes Ana Sobrido Nanohybrids – Photocatalysis with a Spin: exploring the possibility to develop organic spin-filters to control reaction pathways by preventing the formation of radical intermediates with opposite spins
Mid session Break
15:45-16:00 Zhifen Luo Edo Boek Virtual voids method to generate low-density microporous carbon structures for electrochemical devices using quenched molecular dynamics simulation
16:00-16:15 Maryanne Mosonik Roberto Volpe In-situ imaging of polyaromatic hydrocarbons during biomass pyrolysis using laser-induced fluorescence spectroscopy
16:15-16:30 Nabila Naz Yi Sui A three-dimensional level set method for two-phase electrohydrodynamics with surface charge convection effect
16:30-16:45 Mengwei Yu Xi Jiang Physicochemical modelling of multi-component liquid biofuel combustion
Mid session Break
17:00 – 17:30 Dr. Ana Sobrido
“Engineering the next generation of electrode materials for energy conversion and storage devices”
Discussion and Feedback

Instructions for Speakers
1, Speakers should submit their power point slides to session chairs one day before their presentations. The slides will be uploaded to the meeting platform so that the audience can download.
2, Standard presentations are limited to 11 minutes with 3 additional minutes for questions. This is followed by 1 minute for transition to the next talk and introduction of the next speaker.
3, Keynote talks are limited to 20 minutes with 4 additional minutes for questions.
4. Plenary Talk are to 30 minutes followed by discussion

Updated by: Gleb Sukhorukov